Lesson Plans:
NEW South Dakota Science Standards:
To fulfill the requirements of the newly adopted standards Earth Science will be taught to grades 6-8 during the 2016-17 school year. During the 2017-18 school year Earth science will be taught to the 6th Grade. Life Science will be taught to the 7-8 Grade. During the 2018-19 school year the 6th grade will be taught Earth Science, 7th grade Life Science, and 8th grade Physical Science.
Rutland has adopted a new curriculum called Science Fusion. We will be teaching 3 Modules that more closely reflect the new science standards. Here is a link with more information about the program:

Following are the modules that have been adopted for the 2017-18 school year.

Space Science Module G

  • Unit 1 The Universe
    • Lesson 1- Structure of the Universe      Standard MS-ESS1-3
      • Field Lab- Schoolyard Solar System
      • Scale Model of the Solar System Using Play-dough
    • Lesson 2- Stars
    • Lesson 2- The Life Cycle of Stars
  • Unit 2 The Solar System
    • Lesson 1- Historical Models of the Solar System
    • Lesson 2- Gravity in the Solar System  Standard MS-ESS1-2
      • Lab- Gravity’s Effect
      • Exploration Lab- Weights on Different Celestial Bodies
    • Lesson 3- The Sun
      • Lab- Sun Timeline
      • STEM Lab- Create a Model of the Sun
    • Lesson 4- The Terrestrial Planets
    • Lesson 5- The Gas Giants
    • Lesson 6- Small Bodies in the Solar System
  • Unit 3 The Earth-Moon-Sun System
    • Lesson 1- Earth’s Days, Years, and Seasons  Standard MS-ESS1-1
      • Develop a Model of Earth-Sun-Moon System and use to demonstrate Eclipses, Moon Phases, and Seasons
    • Lesson 2- Moon Phases and Eclipses
    • Lesson 3- Earth’s Tides
  • Unit 4 Exploring Space
    • Lesson 1- Images from Space
    • Lesson 2- Technology for Space Exploration
      • STEM Lab 1- Build a Rocket
    • Lesson 3- History of Space Exploration
      • STEM Lab 2- Lunar Lander